Dirt set to fly at Nyora Raceway

South Gippsland''s Nyora Raceway will play host to the latest Gippsland Speedway meeting this Saturday night. Picture: COURTESY OF NAPIER PHOTOGRAPHY

South Gippsland’s Nyora Raceway will play host to the latest Gippsland Speedway meeting this Saturday night from 5pm with all the club’s regular classes gunning for club points and the trophies at the end of the night on offer.

Sports Sedan’s, Junior Sedans, Standard Saloons for Men and Women will provide the entertainment with around one hundred competitors entered to compete.

Scott Angus, the winner of Sports Sedan’s at the last Nyora event is back to try and defend against the very tough local competition. Victorian Champion Jamie Paull is in the field, in form Robert Garlick, Lee Beach in his quick Chevrolet powered Falcon, Damien Miller and Andrew Jordan are just some of the racers to watch.

The first Standard Saloon winner of the season Rhys Lansdown from Kooweerup is in the field for Standard Saloons and he will have to contend with Pakenham’s Mark Miles, Kasey Ingram, Andrew Cormack and Poowong larrikin Stephen Douglas.

Victorian Champion Trish Dike is in the Ladies field of Standard Saloons along with Tracey Ingram who just won up at Bairnsdale. Last start winner at Nyora Sara Benson is going to be hard to topple and Sarah Meakins and her daughter Courtney are hard chargers along with Sarah Price.

Six Cylinder Junior Standard Saloon competition from the likes of Bairnsdale winner Damon Ingram from Warragul, Rhys Meakins, Owen Cecil, Matt Shankland and Harry Cecil should be very entertaining. While the 1500cc Junior Sedan class last start winner Jayden Bryant who also just won at Mildura leads, Linken Paterson, Rhys Meakins, Dylan Barrow and Tasmanian Stevie Smith as nominations, all will be fast and furious behind the wheel.